Ethony’s tarot challenge, day 15-16.

Day 15. Why do you usually use the Tarot (self-reflection, guidance, advice, recreation, communing with spirits/dead, communication with deity, other)?

For myself it’s usually for self-reflection, self-development, guidance, sometimes recreation and yeah I’d also say for divination/to foresee the future. I know it’s not considered very modern to use tarot for divination, in the tarot community at least, but I see it like this: It works, so why not?

What I don’t use tarot for is to communicate with the dead, with spirits or with deity.

Day 16. How much emphasis do you put on the text-book meanings for cards, and how much stress do you place on the “feeling” you get from cards through their artwork/symbolism/etc. (aka reading intuitively)? Do you do both, or one or the other? Do you ever use the Major Arcana without the Minor Arcana or vise verse? Do you read with Major Arcana only decks?

Hmm. I mix it up. I rely heavily on intuition, like if The Tower is giving me a really positive vibe, I will go with that and don’t mention the traditionally dark/negative meaning. I have ”studied” tarot; meaning I have read lots of books on tarot and such, so of course book-meanings have stuck with me. I don’t think I’d be able to empty my brain of those meanings lol and I don’t think and I’d want to. I think Benebell Wen describes in Holistic Tarot how some meanings and some old, well-known, spreads are kind of imprinted in the collective subconscious, which makes them meaningful on a higher level so to speak. It makes sense to me.

I don’t ever use only the major arcana and no, I don’t read with majors only decks. I’ve never had reason to I guess. I like the balance of the spiritual realm and the mundane everyday life.

Kommentera

