Tarot Thursday Three – Sixth Round!

As usual Julia gives us really interesting questions for the Tarot Thursday Three.

Reversals or nah?

For a short while when I started reading tarot I did use reversals. But the thing that stopped me after a while was that I could never figure out a way to get reversed cards and still shuffle the deck in a natural way?

As the years have gone by I’ve never ever missed including reversals in my tarot practice. To me the tarot is a very visual tool, and seeing a piece of artwork upside down does not give me any new insights. It simply confuses my brain.

The tarot traditionally is very balanced between shadow and light, which means that if the cards are warning me about something bad to happen, I can trust that a “bad” card shows up (say, The Devil or Ten of Swords). I don’t need The Sun reversed to see shadow – there’s already enough of those cards in the deck anyway.

If you could go back in time and give your novice self one piece of wisdom to fast track your tarot learning, what would it be?

Hmm. I really feel I did the best I could, and it turned out pretty damn good haha! I started with LWB-meanings, but very quickly found a tarot forum online and understood from those wise people that an intuitive understanding of each card was much more beneficial.

I guess the only piece of advice I’d give would be to use the cards very often to incorporate them into my daily life and into my conscious mind. I had such deep respect for tarot back then that I didn’t want to “over do” it, and it’s just in the last couple of years I’ve understood how amazing tarot can be when you create that daily healing and guidance by using them.

What is your go-to spread?

I don’t really have one! I’m quite quick to create a spread based on the specific question I have. But I guess I will often just pull three cards and then read them as a story, especially with traditional decks this is always spot on for me.

 

3 reaktioner på ”Tarot Thursday Three – Sixth Round!

  1. The reason why I don’t specifically include reversals is your reasoning as well! If one gets reversed on accident, though, I’m not going to flip it around. Must have happened for a reason. *shrug* 🙂

    Gilla

  2. I get the not wanting to overdo it thing – I think I sort of saw tarot in much the same way when I started. And there is something to be said for approaching it with respect – but while learning, I totally find value in consulting it daily. Not for predictive readings just just for check ins 🙂

    Gilla

Kommentera

