Tarot Thursday Three – Ninth Round!

Time for another round of Tarot Thursday Three by Julia from Spiral Sea Tarot!

What was it that initially sparked your interest with tarot? 
It’s hard to say exactly… Even as a child I was always a seeker. When girls turned 14 and started to be interested in thongs, booze and boys, I really started to research religion, philosophy and witchcraft more deeply. Not trying to sound like a douchebag here lol that’s just the way it was! So I knew about different forms of divination, but if I remember correctly I felt that tarot seemed a bit too complicated for me to get into so I never got a deck or so back then.

A couple of years later, when I was 17, I followed a blog written by a Polish-American woman around my age. She had the RWS deck and showed some readings on her blog, and that’s when I really felt “I want to do that too!” and went out to get my own deck.

Is it what you expected it to be and if not, in what ways were your expectations defied?
Haha! I don’t know… I mean, I was 17 when I got my first deck! Of course my view of tarot has changed as my brain has umm evolved lol. At that time I wanted two things mainly: To predict the future because that would be comfortable and fun. And also to have a really cool psychic skill that would make everyone else think I was super mysterious and cool (not so mature anymore, eh?). Sigh… Thankfully I quite quickly realized that the tarot had the potential to be a much more useful tool. I found Aeclectic Tarot Forum quite early on in my tarot journey, and the wise people there made me understand that tarot could be a huge help when it comes to self-development, spirituality, psychology and getting to know oneself better etc…

How do you primarily use tarot? I.e. for divination, self-reflection, analysis, shadow work, ritual (or something else)?
I’m going to steal a little bit of Julia’s answer here because it’s so clear and good: ”I use it for divination, but I really stress probability with myself and others. For example, ’this may happen based on energy and current trajectory, but the future is not carved in stone’”. So yeah, I use tarot for divination for both myself and others, but I would say for myself it’s more often about understanding myself, others, the world, my life, in a better way. In recent years I’ve also let tarot become a much bigger part of my spiritual life than it used to be. I feel tarot can really connect me to other energies and Source, and that’s a wonderful use for it. So almost all of the suggestions apply to me… I rarely use tarot for ritual, but I’m not huge on ritual overall… Shadow work – definitely! Amazing tool for that sort of psychological work.

 

5 reaktioner på ”Tarot Thursday Three – Ninth Round!

  1. haha – also not to sound like a douche, but I can totally relate to your feelings as a 14 year old. I can think of no other friends at that time who shared any common interest to myself, so I kinda nodded and smiled at a lot and then did my own thing when no one was looking. 🙂

    Gilla

    1. Haha oh how cool, another weirdo! 😉 I remember so vividly how I around the age of 14 told my friends ”I’m researching Judaism, it’s soo interesting!” and they all went quiet and just stared at me. Haha!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ”Not trying to sound like a douchbag” hahaha… I mean, I still feel like this. Sometimes it’s hard for me to even chat with people because what I’m thinking about is absolutely not interesting to most people in my life. Thank goodness for the IG tarot community, otherwise I’d have no outlet.

    Gilla

Kommentera

